Book Review: Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Rating: 9/10

9780312641894_FC.jpg

Cinder seems like a simple mechanic in New Beijing but she is really 36% cyborg. Treated like a servant by her stepmother, she has to work to provide income for her greedy family. Then two things happen: the plague takes her younger sister (one of her only friends) and crown prince Kai- whose father has already been taken by the plague -starts taking an interest in Cinder. From Kai, Cinder learns about the Lunar Queen and her plans to invade Earth. Cinder begins to develop feelings for kai, all though is reluctant to admit to it because of their difference in hierarchy. She is unwilling to tell him of her cyborg nature in fear that it will ruin whatever relationship they already had. But when she is tested for the plague, it becomes clear that that is the least of her secrets.

Thoughts:

I heard a lot of great things about this book so I had very high expectations. Although the first part of the book took me a while to get into, the book was really good and surpassed my expectations. This is one of my favourite fairy tale retellings and as the title suggests is a retelling of Cinderella. I really liked the ideas and how well putting a fairytale into a dystopian/sci fi genre worked out. I liked Cinder and was often amused by her sarcasm, wit and creativity along with the relationships she made with the characters. I also thought it was interesting that Cinder didn’t hate both her stepsisters, as in the original tale, but only one.

SPOILER ALERT: I could see Cinder as the princess coming, but it was a surprise that she was Lunar.

I really liked this book and I look forwards to reading more Marissa Meyer soon.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder

  1. Elena

    Thank you so much for reviewing this book!

    At first I thought it was a vampire romance book (Because of the author, I may have been under the impression that she was Stephanie Meyer’s sister, and the cover because the lettering reminded me of a vampires) but I read your review and found the book sounded interesting, so I now have a borrowed copy on my desk, ready to read.

    Although I am only partially through the novel, what I have read so far is brilliant, and I would never have picked up this wonderful story if it weren’t for this review.

    Thank you, novelsinthenighttime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

