The Bookshelf Tag

I saw this lovely tag at http://ramblings-of-a-red-head-girl.blogspot.com.au/ and decided to do it because it’s our blog’s first tag and it looks like fun.

The Bookshelf Tag:

Describe your bookshelf (or wherever it is you keep your books-it doesn’t actually have to be a shelf!) and where you got it from: My main bookshelf was made by my grandfather when I was a child. It’s dark brown and has a glass cupboard bit in between the shelves.

Do you have any special or different way of organizing your books? Not really, mine are in alphabetical order for fiction and non fiction is whatever way fits best on the shelves. I understand the appeal of rainbow shelves but don’t have the time for that and besides, it will be annoying to find books.

What’s the thickest (most amount of pages) book on your shelf? The Lord of the Rings Trilogy in one book – 1193 pages and the writing is tiny!

What’s the thinnest (least amount of pages) book on your shelf? Meerkat Mail, by Emily Gravett. It’s a picture book with 26 pages

Is there a book you received as a birthday gift? The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

What’s the smallest (height and width wise) book on your shelf? The Pocket English dictionary – it can actually fit in a pocket.

What’s the biggest (height and width wise) book on your shelf? The Red Queen by Isobelle Carmody

Is there a book from a friend on your shelf? Yes: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Most expensive book? Well I actually have no clue. Most of my books are around the same cost but there are definitely some expensive books I WANT to buy *laughs*

The last book you read on your shelf? The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory

Of all the books on your shelf, which was the first you read? Deltora Quest, by Emily Rodda

Do you have more than one copy of a book? Yes, I have two of A Wizard of Earthsea because I accidentally bought another forgetting I already had one and then realised when I went to put it in alphabetical order and there was the exact same edition sitting there.

Do you have the complete series of any book series? Yes, Ruby Redfort, Inkheart, Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter to name a few

What’s the newest addition to your shelf? Akarnae, by Lynette Noni. I went out and bought it yesterday because I saw a bookshop on my way somewhere else and couldn’t help myself…

What book has been on your shelf FOREVER? The Tale of Despereaux: I’ve had that book basically ever since I could read

What’s the most recently published book on your shelf? Raelia, by Lynette Noni. It came out April this year.

The oldest book on your shelf (as in, the actual copy is old)? I have a copy of Charles Dickens from 1846 but it’s actually my Nan’s.

A book you won? *laughs again* Well there are quite a lot of those because when I was in middle school my school had this thing where if you read and reviewed 8 books you got a book voucher to buy books. I won a lot of those.

A book you’d hate to let out of your sight (aka a book you never let someone borrow)? Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey because it’s older so is getting harder to find and I love it too much to lend it to someone. I’d probably make them come to my home and watch them as they read it to make sure they respected it.

Most beat up book? My LOTR book because it’s fairly old and is really big so every time I read it new creases appear on the spine.

Most pristine book? Icefire by Chris D’Lacey.

A book from your childhood? I’m going to have to go with Tyrannosaurus Drip, by Julia Donaldson. It’s a rhyming picture book about a Duckbill Dinosaur that gets raised as a T-rex and I loved it so much that I practically memorised it 😉

A book that’s not actually your book? One of my Sherlock books is actually my dad’s

A book with a special/different cover (e.g. leather bound, soft fuzzy cover etc.)? Snakehead by Anthony Horowitz has a shiny silver cover with “snake scales” cut into it.

A book that is your favorite colour? Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman is my favourite blue but none of my books are that perfect aqua shade that I love

Book that’s been on your shelf the longest that you STILL haven’t read? Our Lord God Made Them All by James Herriot. It’s been there for about a year. I did have ones that had been there longer but I put a ban on reading any more books until I read the ones on my shelf.

Any signed books? Not as many as I would like, but I am fairly proud of a couple of signed Jackie French books

 

Congratulations if you actually read that whole post! Credits to Natalie for the questions!

5 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tag

  1. Ahhh, loved your answers!! 😀 Thanks so much for doing the tag!

    You copy of the LOTR trilogy sounds amazing.

    Oh my…1846?? That’s so fantastic! Even if the copy is your Nan’s. 😉

    Haha, I completely understand about wanting people to respect the books you let them borrow. I love sharing new stories with people, but I admit I’m always a little worried about doing so unless I know for a fact they will return it unharmed. 😉

    Your blog is so pretty!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

