Obernewtyn

So it’s been a year since The Red Queen– the final book in the amazing Obernewtyn chronicles- came out and seeing as I met Isobelle Carmody recently, I thought I should do an Obernewtyn post.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I first read Obernewtyn when I was in junior school as a recommendation from my friend. I loved it and went on to read the rest of the series but then had to wait what seemed like an agonisingly long time for the last books. For those of you who haven’t read it, it’s set in a post-apocalyptic world and is about a girl named Elspeth with the power to communicate with others using her mind. However, in her superstitious society, where all “misfits” are killed, or sent to the mysterious place called Obernewtyn. When Elspeth is sent to Obernewtyn, she soon discovers that she is special, even among misfits…

My favourite book in the series would have to be The Stone Key, closely followed by Ashling. These have such clever plots and every discovery the misfits and Elspeth made shocked me. Also, Rushton! 😉 That’s all I can say without being too spoilery.

When I met Isobelle, she said that she wrote Obernewtyn because she was trying to answer the question: could humans evolve to be better/morally good as a race? I found this quite interesting as it really showed me how I could use writing as an avenue to ask deeper questions.

I would recommend Obernewtyn to everyone, but particularly those who like sci fi and dystopian.

And there ends my post, or maybe it’s more of a ramble.

Leave a Reply

