Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, by JK Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

Rating: 5/10

Harry_Potter_Cursed_Child_Play.jpg

This is a play script of the eighth Harry Potter story, set 19 years after the Deathly Hallows. It focusses on Harry’s middle son Albus and his troubles connecting with his father and family. It also involves Draco Malfoy’s son Scorpius, who becomes a friend of Albus’s. When Albus becomes involved in dark magic, he must face a foe determined to bring back Voldemort’s evil deeds in a quest for revenge.

Thoughts:

I know there was a lot of raving when this came out, so I decided not to read it for a while. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am a MASSIVE Harry Potter fan. I decided to put off reading it because I felt like Harry’s story was resolved in the seventh book and this would only ruin my memories of my favourite childhood characters. And, to be fair, now that I’ve read it I’m disappointed.

I felt like the beginning was too rushed to be able to connect with the characters, who seemed to be used as puppets, without their individual quirks and traits that made me so love them in the earlier books. Even Harry and his friends acted completely out of character sometimes and I felt somewhat cheated.

I know some people didn’t like this because it was a script and they found it didn’t flow as well that way. I didn’t find this a particular problem, my main issues with this were its contents, not format.

I liked the idea of a Potter and a Malfoy being friends but I feel like this idea wasn’t expressed the right way. The plot, quite frankly, was ludicrous. It felt like bad fan fiction and wasn’t thought through at all. Overall, I found this was an idea with potential that wasn’t well-developed and didn’t really work. But hey- that’s my personal opinion and I’m sure many of you will disagree.

Feel free to leave your thoughts as comments at the bottom 🙂

Leave a Reply

