Heartless: book review

Heartless, by Marissa Meyer

Rating: 8.5/10

img_2098

Before she became the queen of hearts, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love… 

Cath is the daughter of a marquess but her dream is to open a bakery. However, when the King of Hearts plans to ask for her hand in marriage, she doesn’t know how to escape. Then she meets Jest, the court Joker, and begins to fall in love with him. But his light-hearted attitude hides dark secrets and she will need all her wits if she wants to stay with him.

Thoughts:

This book was brilliantly written, yet I felt like it stabbed me i the chest and tore out my heart. One of the reasons it was so good was that I already knew the end, she becomes the Queen of Hearts, yet I did not know how she became this At about halfway through the book I began to dread the end and the suspense really captured me.

At the beginning, I thought the world was a bit strange, but then began to make more sense as the book progressed (in the nonsensical way that Wonderland is, of course!) I found that the characters’ individual quirks really led the story. Not so much Catherine as the others; Hatta, Raven, Peter Peter and of course Jest.I loved Jest and thought he was such a well developed character, knowing just what to say in any situation.

MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT AHEAD

Finally, the end. The end almost killed me, especially Jest’s death. I could see how that broke Catherine’s heart, how it made her what she became, and I understand, but dearly wish it hadn’t happened. Perhaps I still wished for a happily ever, for someone else to become the Queen of Hearts. Nevertheless, this was a masterfully written book that I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

